Design Sponge

A simple blog to showcase my projects, as well as what excites me in the world of design and engineering

Human Factors – Project intro

It’s been quite a while since I last posted. Since my last post semester one of my masters program has been completed and 2014 has begun. The winter Olympics is sadly over and work is picking up pace. As well as an integrated design group project where I’m working with three mechanical engineers and a film making project where I have to produce a three minute movie I am also getting my teeth into a human factors design project.

For this project we have been asked to “analyse, observe and evaluate” an existing product from a human factors perspective, recording what we find. We are then asked to engage in a re-design to improve the products human factor characteristics.

In order to analyse, observe and evaluate our products we have a series of lecture/workshops to introduce us to different areas to research into, such as:

–   Human Factors Methods

–   Physical Ergonomics

–   Design Ethnography

–   Users and Interactions

–   Social Fitness

 

The product I have chosen for this project is the Fitbit One:

fitbitone1small The Fitbit One is a wireless activity and sleep tracker. it describes itself as “If you want to turn fitness into a lifestyle, the One™ is for you. For starters, it never rests. During the day, it tracks your steps, distance, calories burned, and stairs climbed. Come nightfall, it measures your sleep quality, helps you learn how to sleep better, and wakes you in the morning. The One™ motivates you to reach your goals by bringing greater fitness into your life – seamlessly, socially, 24 hours a day.”

My first thoughts after carrying out some auto-ethnography was that this felt like a very high quality product. I didn’t use the Fitbits display much, instead using my Iphone 5 and the Fitbit app. However I realise that not everyone would be able to do this as the Fitbit One uses bluetooth 4.0 which is a low power version of bluetooth and is only available on the Iphone 4S an upwards. I also struggled to remember the Fitbit everyday and introduce it into my routine. I will be interested to see if others have the same problem.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 25, 2014 by in Design, Projects, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .
