Design Sponge

A simple blog to showcase my projects, as well as what excites me in the world of design and engineering

A reflective piece on my research

This is a reflective piece as it seems the weeks have just flown by recently. The lead up to Christmas had a lot of project hand in’s and exams. Then the focus was returned back to the transactions project. Having given the final presentation and finished all 15 design pages for the folio I feel I can now look back at the project for the first time.

Overall I feel I learned a lot with this project. Although I am happy with my final product and the work I submitted I feel there was a lot I had to leave out, which is a shame as this project was really about the process behind the final submission. I learnt a lot throughout this project and it certainly made me think differently to the way I have before.

The initial research which we carried out was really useful and I would like to carry out more ethnography in future projects. I would especially like to use ethnography as a form of research for the iterative stage of the design work to ensure that the chosen solutions are truly user centred. Initial research carried out for this project was:

– initial brainstorming to determine what a transaction was and the different types we could think of collectively as a group

– ethnographic research carried out in the shopping streets of Glasgow. Here we tried to image different types of transactions people carried out in their everyday lives, whilst also trying to photograph and storyboard transactions people struggled with

– Transaction experiences. Here we tried to map out the experience of individual transactions to get an idea of what was actually happening

– The future of transactions. Here we mapped out how we thought the future of transactions in different areas might look. We did this by extrapolating research we had already carried out as well as using different related trends we found online using trendwatching.com

ImageImage ImageImage

One aspect of the product I feel I showed but was unable to explain was the material and colour choices. It was really important for the product to blend into its surroundings and seem like it belonged in the kitchen. In order to do this a series of mood boards were created:

–  different kitchens (materials and colours)

– 3D scanning technologies

– types of chopping boards and materials

kitchens mood boardscanners mood board mood board - chopping boards

This really allowed for clear designs to be designed and immediately judged in accordance to the user and product requirements. It was quickly found that almost all current technologies for 3D scanning would not be suitable as they would give a stigma to the device and the device could seem to medical. Instead the floating eggs were chosen as they were non intrusive shapes that belonged in the kitchen, and the floating technology allowed for a novel scanning technique that would avoid stigmas and a medical looking product.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 20, 2014 by in Design, Projects, Uncategorized.
